30 reasons why I should quit smoking

1. It will increase risk of cancer.
2. It will damage my teeth.
3. It will affect the health of my future babies.
4. Second hand smoke harms people around me.
5. It costs money I do not have.
6. It will damage my throat and lungs.
7. It makes my immune system weaker.
8. It makes healing slower.
9. It will make me age faster.
10. My skin will look bad. I will have clearer brighter skin if I stop.
11. It will make it difficult to run, jog or exercise.
12. It will be difficult to have an active lifestyle.
13. It will make me fatter due to lack of physical activity.
14. It takes up precious time.
15. It harms the environment (smoke and cigarette butts).
16. It dulls the sense of smell and taste.
17. It will be a bad example to younger people.
18. It’s a vice, an addiction. I should not be dependent on a chemical substance.
19. It does not even taste good.
20. It doesn’t really solve any problems.
21. Stopping will teach me to keep still and focus without being dependent on cigarettes.
22. I will live longer.
23. It will make me drink less sugary drinks.
24. I will be able to poop without being dependent on cigarettes.
25. I could go to work earlier. It will save me about 10 minutes in the morning.
26. It gives me cough and phlegm.
27. It will make my loved ones happier.
28. I can be an inspiration to those who also want to quit.
29. I could do more productive stuff than sit and smoke.
30. I will be happier to have let go something holding me back.

I should remember all of this when I experience withdrawal symptoms:
“When you stop smoking, you are likely to get symptoms which may include: nausea (feeling sick), headaches, anxiety, irritability, craving, and just feeling awful. These symptoms are caused by the lack of nicotine that your body has been used to. They tend to peak after 12-24 hours, and then gradually ease over 2-4 weeks.”

Today is the last day and I have smoked my last stick for 2014. I pray for 2015 to be smoke free. 🙏

I can do this!

Leave a Reply

