Lessons from Lost Love

Yes it still hurts. But I am happy to have learned a lot from all of you who broke my heart. And I am a better person for it.

1. You should always put yourself first.
The thing is, when I start loving someone I tend to accept all that they are – imperfections, flaws and all. I don’t really think that much of myself. I love selflessly and get hurt because (1) they don’t feel the same; (2) they’re incapable of that kind of love.

Next time, it’s me first. I will be more conscious and if it’s not worth it, I will leave it at that.

2. Choose wisely.
Next time, I will decide who to love, not just fall in love with the next person who likes me. There’s plenty of fish in the sea and settling for a love that is hurtful is stupid. I will know what I want and will not settle for scraps from assholes no matter how sugarcoated their words or gifts are.

You only live once! And I should live it well for myself and not waste it on a few douchebags.

3. Your past does not define your future.
I’ve made plenty of mistakes in the past and sometimes it hurts that you’d make mistakes out of love. And sometimes you doubt who you are for what you have done. But it’s a great reminder that my past is just that, the past. And it’s never too late to change.

4. What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger.
There are mornings or nights that the pain is paralyzing. But I just try to remember that this too shall pass and if it doesn’t kill me, I will be a better person for it. And I look forward to becoming a better person.

5. It’s not the end of the world.
… If you don’t end up with the guy who made you cry or didn’t choose you. God has way better things planned for you. And when you come to think of it, why am I even sad about a person who wasted my feelings and time. It’s good that they’re gone because now I can move on, open doors and meet new people. God has special plans!🙂

And sometimes just being alone with a few friends is the best medicine. There’s no use for pity parties and drinking away my sorrows. I am better than that now.

Leave a Reply

