Photographs

Memories I have of you
Are of long walks in rainy nights
Across fields full of frogs
And giant spark plugs
That made me laugh

Coffee and cigarettes
Or maybe three beers to keep it cool
Til the wee hours in the morning
And you still had to walk me home
Silly fool

All that’s left are photographs
Of me and you
Bringing me feelings of wonder
How we got this far
All that’s left are scars

As I inhaled the last puff
I recall how it used to be
When I was your greatest love
And you were my rock
But that was never enough

All that’s left are photographs
Preserved good memories of you
That’s how I would rather keep it
But today, I’d rather forget you
Erase everything
‘Til the day I can forgive you.

Leave a Reply

