Acceptance

There were days like you were mine
You said you loved me
And I thought it would
Last for all of time.

I never thought we would end up this way
More than friends and almost lovers
But then sometimes
Everything just fades away.

There were days like you were mine
But then reality strikes
And I suddenly hit the ground
Oh love I just want to hide.

I come to you today with an open heart
I’ve accepted that we are better off apart
More than friends but not lovers
With love, I am giving you back your heart.

There will be days like you are mine
But not for a lifetime
I’d rather keep you close as who we are – more than friends, not lovers
Than love you from afar.

Leave a Reply

