Ripples

The night was just right
There was laughter and singing
I never caught your stares
Who would have known
How bittersweet it would end

Kindness and a little bit of love
Sweet words oh heart don’t you listen
He knows you are in pain
How dare he start a ripple
Of love and of pain

You just had to break your silence
Your mind might not be working
All that alcohol and cigarettes
I wish I didn’t listen.

Kindness and a little bit of love
Sweet words oh heart don’t you listen
He knows you are in pain
How dare he start a ripple
Of love and of pain

A touch on the shoulder
A caress of the cheek
Oh holding hands through sleep
You pushed all the right buttons
How dare you stir emotions

I never knew you felt that way
Admiration for the strong girl in pain
Surprised I let myself stay
Locked into your stare.

That night must be forgotten
I’m sorry it had to happen

Send my apologies
To the love that’s waiting for you there.

Leave a Reply

