Thankful

I have been working for 6 months in a government office that espouses being “mahusay, magiliw at mabilis” (excellent, amiable, quick). This mantra aims to change how people think of government employees as well as the mindset of employees to be of service to the people no matter how hard or frustrating the work gets.

I admit I used to be a person who disliked the government. But being part of the system now, I have also sought to embody this mantra and I have met people along the way whom I admire for really being the mantra. They are these people who (despite the stress) will cheerfully answer your queries, find ways they can help and go the extra mile to point you in the right direction. It’s inspiring to have people of excellence who do not just value their own work but that of the whole organization as well. These are not bosses, they are technical staff who are the lifeblood of this organization.

It’s so great to be surrounded by people like this. Don’t get me wrong, there are still people in here who are very difficult to talk to. But I feel like it’s a revolution, day by day we have little victories to get the job done is as great a quality we can. And I want to be part of this revolution… No matter how hard, no matter how people outside judge us for everything that’s going wrong in the country. We will strive and continue to push forward so we can be part of the solution not just to prove them wrong but for a better life of those less fortunate than us with offices and wages.

One day. But for now, I am thankful for there is still hope if we push on.