New Chapter

I have just recently resigned and I couldn’t be any happier. I was earning quite well but it was not really fulfilling in any sense (creatively, intellectually, socially, etc). It was a nice experience for a while because I got to travel to a different country. I experienced meeting different people from staffers to Presidents of Universities, to really old wise professors, to Secretaries of Governments. I got to host a dinner with almost 80 people of different races. It was a nerve-wracking experience but unforgettable nonetheless.

A lot of people would have given anything for that kind of job. You get to travel at least once a year to different country and the work load was not too much in the office. But I have stayed there for a year and for a long period of time, I have been complaining and complaining to myself (and to a lot more people) about how I was not happy with what I was doing. I tried finding a hobby that would complement the boredom I felt at work. (I tried sewing and growing cacti.) That didn’t work because I was often too tired after work hours to be able to do anything. (I do not live with my family so I have to cook and clean at home for myself.) I do not have the leisure of weekends as I had to go home to my family and spend time with them.

And so I decided to take up Masters. I chose a difficult one that needed so much math (and guess what, I do NOT have Math in my undergrad degree.) But I got in and I am willing to work hard for it. It will be hard, but I am interested and so that will push me to work for it. (Yey focused self!)

And I resigned too! Yes. It took so much courage and second-guessing. But I am happy and so all that stress paid off. (I also caused some trouble, not agreeing to “duty travel” but I have my reasons.)

And so here I am about to face a new chapter of life. I am a bit scared again, so many choices to make. (Been reading a lot of articles from positivelypositive.com recently.) But I know that this is for the better. I need to face some uncertainties and put myself out of my comfort zone so I’d know what I really want for my life. I want to take a step back but I also don’t want to pass up on opportunities that may come my way.

I am excited and anxious at the same time! I am ready to (live in poverty) but be happy with what I am doing. I pray for strength, courage and wisdom to make choices, choices that would make me happier and be a better person.

I want to start something for myself. It can be this blog, it can be an art project, it can be a business. All would need time, effort and dedication. All would need a conscious effort. All would need commitment and the courage to pursue even if other people may doubt me or setbacks will put me down.

Change is scary, but remember change can bring a lot of possibilities. More than wisdom and discernment, we need courage to face uncertainty.

Cheers to a new chapter of my life! =)

Leave a Reply

